Huntsville, Alabama | December 27-29, 2018 | Huntsville High School
"The Premier High School Holiday Basketball Tournament In The Southeast"
Wade Lipscomb, Tournament Director Emeritus

Wade Lipscomb started the popular Huntsville City Classic - formerly the Huntsville Times Classic and Classic - boys basketball tournament in 1983. He served as the tournament's director for 33 years.

Lipscomb was the athletic director at Huntsville High from 1978-1995. He arrived at the school in 1974 to teach math, and became boys basketball coach in 1976. He also coached at New Hope (1969-71) and was a basketball assistant at Jacksonville State (1971-74). Lipscomb was an advocate for all sports and worked with Huntsville High coaches Sherry Ammons and Jim Oaks to help revive the AHSAA girls state hoops tournament in 1978, and he directed the state volleyball tournament (1984) and the first state soccer tournament for boys and girls (1991).

Wade Lipscomb was the Huntsville City Schools Athletics Director from 1995-2007, then came out of retirement to serve again from 2012-2015. Lipscomb is a member of the AHSAA Hall of Fame (Class of 2003) and the Huntsville-Madison County Athletic Hall of Fame (2004), and he was Alabama's Athletic Director of the Year in 2000.
The John Pruett Championship Trophy

The Huntsville City Classic Championship Trophy is named for long-time Huntsville Times Sports Editor - John Pruett.
John retired from the Huntsville Times newspaper in 2008 after 42 years. Over the years he covered many major sporting events from the Olympics, Bowl Games, and Super Bowls. Even with the pleasure of covering these major sporting events he still often says that the Classic Finals is an all-time favorite and he continues to attend the Classic final every year.

Mr. Pruett was instrumental in the Huntsville Times being a long-time sposnor of the tournament and covered the tournament himself from 1983 till his retirement.
Year Champion Runner-Up The Wade Lipscomb All Tournament Teams
2018 Mae Jemison Columbia 2018 All Tournament team
2017 Hazel Green Sparkman 2017 All Tournament team
2016 Mae Jemison Mountain Brook 2016 All Tournament team
2015 Johnson Lee 2015 All Tournament team
2014   Johnson James Clemens 2014 All Tournament team
2013 Lee Grissom 2013 All Tournament team
2012 Lee Sparkman 2012 All Tournament team
2011   Bob Jones   Huntsville 2011 All Tournament team
2010   Butler   Bob Jones  2010 All Tournament team
2009 Lee Sparkman  2009 All Tournament team
2008 Johnson Butler 2008 All Tournament team
2007 Butler Johnson 2007 All Tournament team
2006 Butler Bradley Central 2006 All Tournament team
2005 Sparkman Madison Academy 2005 All Tournament team
2004 Decatur Sparkman 2004 All Tournament team
2003 Butler Johnson  
2002 Bob Jones Sparkman  
2001 Bradley Central Butler  
2000 Grissom Decatur  
1999 Lee Bradley Central  
1998 Grissom Butler  
1997 Oakland Johnson  
1996 Johnson Grissom
1995 Oakland Huntsville
1994 Butler Austin  
1993 Lee Johnson  
1992 Butler Athens  
1991 Decatur Columbia  
1990 Butler Lee  
1989 Butler Johnson  
1988 Johnson Huntsville  
1987 Grissom Brainerd  
1986 Brainerd Austin  
1985 Huntsville Johnson  
1984 Johnson Huntsville  
1983 Decatur Keith  

Tournament Director: Scott Stapler
Tournament Director Emeritus: Wade Lipscomb

**DISCLAIMER: Pictured players, affiliated universities, and the NCAA do not endorse this tournament.**
**Their photos and names only acknowledge that they participated in this tournament as a high school player.**